Meet Again, Out There

Meet Again Out There

“I hate you!.”

“…no you don’t, you’re just upset. I understand.”

“Well, you hate me!”

John peered into his daughter’s eyes. “You know that is the furthest thing from the truth. I love you more than anything else on this—or any other–planet.”

“Then why are you leaving?”she began to cry.

“I know you don’t understand this now, but someday you will; I have to do this. Not just for you, and mommy, and your brother but for everyone. Everyone.”

Gabby buried her face in her fathers chest. John wrapped his arms around her.

“Can’t someone else do it?” her voice muffled against the fabric of his shirt.

“I wish they could baby.” He squeezed her tight.

“We won’t see each other again, will we?” she pulled out of his embrace and looked up at her father; possibly for one of the last times.

John wiped a tear from her cheek, and then looked to the sky.

“Look up there.”

The night sky was alive and moving. Infinite was on display, in all its beauty.

“Out there, is a sea of possibility and limitless outcomes,” He continued, “everything you can imagine has or will happen; and somethings you can’t even fathom.”

He put his hands on each side of his daughters face, and looked into her eyes once more.

“I don’t know if we will see each other again, but I have to believe that it’s possible. And if it isn’t here,” John pointed up to the Universe, “then we will find each other again, out there.”

Gabby placed her head back on her fathers chest, and he held her like he would never hold her again. Now he was crying.

AUTHORS NOTE: first installation in #FictionFriday! I hope you all enjoy. I am writing a piece of Flash fiction–extremely short stories–every single day, with a new topic or theme each month. For this month i am tackling the topic Saying Goodbye. Please leave a comment below telling me what you did and didn’t like about it. I can only grow with some great feedback. Thank you all!

If you enjoyed this post please check out some more of my flash fiction here:

https://heytherefatboy.wordpress.com/2014/10/17/for-an-hour-a-flash-fiction-story/

https://heytherefatboy.wordpress.com/2014/09/20/wallpaper-100-word-flash-fiction/

https://heytherefatboy.wordpress.com/2014/10/10/danger-in-shadows/

40 thoughts on “Meet Again, Out There

  1. Awww, this got to me! I’m sitting here fighting back tears because it’s a potential conversation my daughter will have with her dad when he gets deployed again. Can’t wait to read more!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Shasta for the comment and support. Also thank you for your and your family’s service. I know what its like to have to put your life and hold and leave the only people you care to really be around. Its tough. ;-/

      Like

  2. Oh my goodness this brought tears to my eyes. I actually had to pause a minute to remind myself it was fiction friday NOT true tuesday because I got worried for a second. This is great writing. Thank you for sharing it with us 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

