Paint Stained — A Flash Fiction Story

Paint Stained Jeans

I find a wrinkled up piece of paper, in an old pair of paint stained jeans; a pair I haven’t worn since high school. I unfold the wad of paper and it reads:

Please excuse Jeremy from school, for the flu. October 14th. Signed, Doctor Ron Smith.

The handwriting, though old, is unmistakably mine. I had stolen the pad from my father and had used it multiple times, but this date stuck out to me. October 14th, had been the day I skipped with Jess.

We spent the entire day together, running across the city. I showed her all my normal spots. I even taught her how to tag. She had never used a spray paint can before. She looked adorable trying to figure it out.

We kissed for the first time, near the Fremont Bridge.

I didn’t realize I was crying until the tear splashes onto the doctors note and spread like lightning. I wipe the tear away, and I press the wrinkles out of the doctors note. I refold it neatly, and then place the piece of paper in my top dresser drawer; where I keep all the things that remind me of her.

I squeeze myself into my juvenile jeans. The top button threatens to pop off and fly outward violently, from the pressure of my belly against it.

The need to paint over takes me, like it hasn’t done in so long. I have missed this feeling. I miss my wife.

I guess a trip to the hardware store is in order.

AUTHOR’S NOTE: I WROTE THIS BASED OFF THE WEDNESDAY WRITING PROMPT, SEEN HERE:https://heytherefatboy.wordpress.com/2014/10/22/wednesday-writing-prompt-10222014/ I DIDNT GET TO WORK ON THIS PIECE AS LONG AS I WANTED TO, BUT THEY CANT ALL BE WINNERS. IF YOU WOULD LIKE TO TAKE PART IN THE WEEKLY WRITING PROMPT CHALLENGE, CHECK BACK EVERY WEDNESDAY TO GET THE PROMPT AND THEN POST IT ON YOUR OWN BLOG AND LINK TO MINE OR POST IT IN THE COMMENTS BELOW THE WRITING PROMPT. YOU CAN ALSO SHARE YOUR WORK ON TWITTER WITH THE HASHTAG #HeyThereFFWP. 

If you enjoy Flash Fiction or enjoyed this piece, please check out some of my other Flash Fiction Writings at:

https://heytherefatboy.wordpress.com/2014/10/10/danger-in-shadows/

https://heytherefatboy.wordpress.com/2014/10/17/for-an-hour-a-flash-fiction-story/

https://heytherefatboy.wordpress.com/2014/10/03/the-funeral/

19 thoughts on “Paint Stained — A Flash Fiction Story

  1. Even though I can’t seem to comment on your posts (I’m trying yet another way today) for whatever reason, I always enjoy reading them. I don’t know if this comment will work, but if it does, I just want to say to keep writing, your work is inspiring.

    Like

  2. Excuse me while I’m being judgmental here, but I think this is definitely a winner! The way you have something so simple & so relatable as a piece of paper really draws you in. I think you should spend a little more time on this, just because I want to know how it would end. 300 pages later.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This one is a winner in my book, Ryan. I so can relate to the story. I have so many notes, tickets, brochures, mugs, pins, and all kinds of knick knacks that I save and, at times, I forget all about them and then boom!… tears and memories, and more tears. This piece is beautiful because it demonstrates a man’s vulnerability and his undying love for someone who died in the flesh but is still much alive in his heart. Love it!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

